Dating German Knifes

Not without a photo.
Google and Herder Catalogues are absolutely without a doubt the best way to date a knife - if you post some very good clear photos of the knife perhaps a Herder or German Cutlery enthusiast with more knowledge on Herders history may see this and chime in?

Not without a photo.
Google and Herder Catalogues are absolutely without a doubt the best way to date a knife - if you post some very good clear photos of the knife perhaps a Herder or German Cutlery enthusiast with more knowledge on Herders history may see this and chime in?
129056472_3814565661895905_6278687520718654867_n.jpg
129053196_3814565578562580_3453457239526124302_n.jpg

Restoration work was being completed on an old estate house and this was a discovered relic. I'm guessing by the screw-less construction it's 1800's but I'm no expert.

Not without a photo.
How do I upload a photo from my files? I'd like help dating a Friedr Herder Abr. Sohn Solingen.

Mike- Imgur is how I post my photos. ( google this )

Randy, that is not as early as you think, I am more in the mind that that Sod-Buster ( that is the name of that pattern of Knife that you have ) is more likely 1930 to 1940's. I have a few like that one.

Restoration work was being completed on an old estate house and this was a discovered relic. I'm guessing by the screw-less construction it's 1800's but I'm no expert.
Traditional knives don't have screw construction, and are pinned. That includes right up to knives on the assembly line at Case and Great Eastern Cutlery among others, as I type this. I believe the pattern we commonly refer to as sodbusters is a quite old one however.

Friedr. Herder had a long history with the sod-buster style knife which is first seen in a factory catalog dating to 1904 (a few different models are shown).
What we call a "sod-buster" knife, Herder called a "Schlachter - Taschenmesser" which translates to "Butcher Pocket Knife".