Designing a new Neck Knife

Status
Not open for further replies.

David Mary

pass the mustard - after you cut it
Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
Good afternoon friends. As I mentioned briefly in GKD here, neck knives - and my difficulty finding a maker to make me a custom one - were perhaps the largest motivator that pushed me into knife making. Somehow I got away from them for a long time, and mostly started using and carrying belt and pocket knives, both fixed and folders, but neckers have always been in the back of my mind, and now after about 10 years as a full on knife afi, and 5 years since I started learning to be a knife maker, I think it's finally time to get back to what first gave me a passion for knives: the ever present, easy to carry and supremely useful necker.

My introduction to the neck knife, and thus the world of knives as EDC tools, was the little bitty CRKT minimalist wharncliffe. Those who know me best know that I am a big fan of wharncliffes, and the reason is that this first EDC knife of mine proved itself to be the ounce for ounce the most useful piece kit I ever carried on my person.

My goal in this thread is to come up with a neck knife design that will appeal to not only people who already like neck knives, but also act as a piece to convert those who don't like them by overcoming and avoiding the pitfalls that many often associate with neck knives. In short, I want to make a neck knife that will be viewed by many as close to "perfect" or "ideal" with as few compromises as possible. Yes, it's ambitious, but I believe we can achieve it. Also, because I believe in customization, whatever the design ends up being, I intend to set it up so I can produce it in a variety of blade shapes according to individual users' wishes for.