Epoxy Show Down (2019)

Is Bob Smith Epoxy (Either Mid or Slow)

• Better than G/Flex

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Has this testing been done!? Can we say definitively that G/Flex is better than Bob Smith or is it just the gold standard that we don't question? I'm out of my depth with epoxies and was wondering where the knife-making community stands in 2019.

If it hasn't been tested, how would yall propose this test to look?

Cheers,
JKeeton

I did my own personal testing on some small wood blocks a year or so ago. Nothing definitive in regards to your poll question.

I’ve been using Bob Smith for the last three years, I have never had any problem. I have a box of G/flex but frankly I’ve never used it.

I also use golfworks two part 24 hour epoxy. I use this alot for hidden tang kitchen knives. I've done my own "destructive testing" on a handle and I'm confident with this epoxy. I’m a golfer and I used to make my own clubs so I know this epoxy from club assembling. It's also less costly than the other commercial epoxies.

If you are talking about gluing handle scales onto full tang knives, I rely on the mechanical pinning of pins.

If I really need something fastened with glue, I use Loctite 324 speed bonder (with activator)

Last edited:
Google "glue wars" and have fun.

I've used Bob Smith slowest cure, BladeBond Ultra, and got some G-Flex when my favorite supplier was out of BladeBond. They feel slightly different when cured in the cups I mix them in, but I haven't had a failure yet. But I've only made kitchen knives which are different from hard use choppers.

The conventional wisdom here is that surface prep is actually more important than the specific brand of epoxy. I sand with 60 grit sandpaper, then clean with acetone first then isopropanol (rubbing alcohol) last. Some people have found that common acetone from the store leaves some type of residue that can interfere with gluing whereas isopropanol doesn't.