Escaping the rabbit hole?

With bad availability, more everyday tasks, obligations and expenses I'm spending less and less time browsing knives... and I no longer feel ecstasy or excitement when I see something.

I see nice knife but then remember "I already have something similar/ I don't need it/ It's too expensive for me now..."

I'm also blaming a friend of mine here. It's kinda my fault he got into knives and it's his fault I'm kinda losing it. He got rid of everything but users, which made me think like "That's smart move for a student, oh wait... I'm a student too!"... I don't have anything to sell but I feel myself losing interest for a while now and this is kinda giving me another push i that direction.

I love knives I have, but I have zero desire of getting anything ese. I also stopped to care about super steels and that stuff too... I have zero interest ino newest super steels when even existing ones are pretty amazing and are an overkill already, and honestly even plain old carbon is enough for me.

Anyone else been there?

Been there done that, give it a year or two and "the itch" will come back..

Ive gone from having 20+ knives to only 1 and being content with the one...but we are a fickle bunch and fickle is as fickle does...

I fell off the bandwagon recently and in the course of a month went from 2 knives back to 10+....

"Hi,my name is Tyler and I am an addict."

Anyone else been there?

Yep. :)

Even just in the five years I've been active here on BF, I've taken at least one long break (about a year, if memory serves) from being engaged with the hobby and the site. And in that time I've also had a couple of stretches where I was carrying the same knife every day for several months in a row, happy as a clam, and not thinking much about the hobby, the market, or what else was out there.

It ebbs and flows -- like my other hobbies. And, broadly, when any hobby is consuming more of my immediate focus, the others recede into the background.