Expensive knives you actually use

just curious what’s everyone’s most expensive knife they actually carry and or use. I always buy really nice blades but then end up selling them because I’m afraid to use the expensive ones.

Last edited:
Carry and use my large Sebenza 21 every day, always accompanied by something bomb proof in my other pocket, usually from Cold Steel like a Recon 1. For some reason the Sebenza is an expensive knife that just needs to be used, it ages well because each scratch on the titanium just makes it look more utilitarian and tool-like.

Any one of my 5 CRKs (all plain-jane versions). Of those, mainly my large 21 Insingo or my small drop-point Inkosi.

Jim

I have a Wilson Combat/CRK Startac. a couple of different Strider's, MT Scarab, ZT 0303, and a few lower $$ models in my rotation that I sometimes carry. I tend towards the 0303, a 0560, or the Scarab more than the others right now but I get on kicks when I may just carry all auto's, or OTF's, or traditional's from time to time.

Almost forgot I have a Deadlock on order and I probably will not carry that one :rolleyes:

Last edited:
Everybody has their own price limit for what they will or won't use. Some people will tell you that if you own it you should use it and again everybody has their limit. I decided that I would cut down my EDC rotation to a smaller number and actually carry and use some of the nicer knives that I had. In my cast my nice folders are Spyderco limited models with M4 steel and I carry and use 4 of them. They can be relatively expensive knives but I bought mine from the original retailer at the original price so I didn't have to pay inflated prices for them.

I do have other knives that I don't use, mostly fixed blades, but I did pick out a few that I had never thought of using and put them in the using category. I just have a lot more opportunity to carry folders than fixed blades.