Extended Tool Kits.

Mack

Expert Ultracrepidarian
Platinum Member
Every time I peruse this forum and the HI site, I am always drawn to pics of the tool kits.
I think I need one. If you have one and have pics of them I'd love to see them. What tools do you have? Do you use them? Do I need them as badly as I think I do?;)

Do I need them as badly as I think I do?;)
Well, do ya?:D

678ppv.jpg

Please excuse my ignorance, as I have little knowledge of Kukris or of Nepalese culture. Can you identify the objects shown and explain their uses?

I think I see a fire making kit with a flint rock and tinder, but the other objects I do not know. Is there a saw, a fork, and why is it called an extended tool kit? Thank you for ay information you can provide. :confused:

Last edited:
The usual khukuri sheath holds the khukuri itself, and two tools: the chakmak and karda. The chakmak is a burnisher, like a steel. The karda is a small utility knife.

We occasionally see a khukuri of exceptional quality, graced with more than the two usual tools. With this extended tool set, the owner can do more different tasks without carrying another kit.

Please excuse my ignorance, as I have little knowledge of Kukris or of Nepalese culture. Can you identify the objects shown and explain their uses?

I think I see a fire making kit with a flint rock and tinder, but the other objects I do not know. Is there a saw, a fork, and why is it called an extended tool kit? Thank you for ay information you can provide. :confused:

Its called an extended tool kit because khukuri normally only come with a karda and chakmak.
These are also sometimes called "Doctors" kits because these little tools could be very handy in extreme circumstances requiring minor surgeries while stranded in the wilds of the Himalayas sometimes many hours or days from any medical care.

1) Tinder Pouch
2) Flint
3) Tinder
4) Awl (sometimes may have at least one side made like a small file)
5) Saw