Fallkniven A1 Kraton, is it meant to be sticky/tacky?

I recently (finally) got my hands on an A1. It was unused 2nd hand. I am not impressed with the grip at all. Seems to be the real deal to me 99% sure but the handle is somewhat sticky/tacky.

I then discovered that the A1 is Kraton rather than Thermorun. One of the things I like about fallkniven is the quality feel, this sticky kraton doesn't feel right to me.

Could the material be degrading? What would you do?

Last edited:
It shouldn't be sticky in the way of leaving any residue... but as long as it does not transfer to your hand/gloves when you use it... it should be fine. It is highly resistant and unless it has been in contact with a solvent that might attack it... it should be ok. I am not an expert, so I have no idea if hidrocarbons can damage it.

I own the smaller F1 and S1... but the share the same handle material. They are grabby, soft, cushy (compared to slick micarta, for example)... but not "sticky"...

I hope this helps.

I have a few Fallknivens and when compared to my Cold Steel master tanto the handles are way softer squishier feeling on the Cold Steel knife handle. The Fallkniven handle should hold up quite well unless it's a fake.

If you mean by sticky some of it is peeling off, I am going to bet you have a fake. It should be grippy but not sticky. I have owned several and they have been really good knives for me.

If it's unusually tacky/gooey, it's probably starting to deteriorate due to exposure to UV, solvents, etc. Was the blade coated with any sort of oil when you got it?
Kraton is supposed to be highly resistant to UV and chemicals. My CS Kraton handles have held up very well.

Kraton is supposed to be highly resistant to UV and chemicals. My CS Kraton handles have held up very well.
I don't doubt it, but there are also plenty of threads on BF about Kraton going sticky...
Some examples: