Fiddleback Forge Intro Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fiddleback

Knifemaker
Hello Knife lovers, welcome aboard. I'm Andy Roy, and I started Fiddleback Forge Knives in my garage in 2007. I had been bitten by the knifemaking bug after making a few simple knives from files and old hickory knives I'd cut up. At the time I was an engineer working in an antenna design company. Knives are so much more interesting to me than electronics and before long, I had followed my passion into a business. I started out part time, and then on May 1 2009 (layoff) became a full time maker. I started out making 6 a week in my basement (we had moved). I don't know if it was myself, or my wife who was more surprised when a few months in, we were still making ends meet. Knives turned out to be the right direction for me, and Fiddleback Forge, with your help and support is growing. We now make our knives in a separate facility from my home, churning out over 30 knives per week and have two employees and an apprentice helping us to finish the work.