First Solo Forge: count the mistakes

I'm a complete novice to knife forging and probably the type of hobbyist scorned around here: Forged In Fire follower. I attended two weekend workshops at SheWeld in Brooklyn NY where I finished two knives under supervision there. Now I'm hooked.

This was my first attempt solo with my new small forge from Mathewson Metals off of eBay. Am fortunate to have already had a large workspace. Took me a few weeks to assemble all of the various parts to get going. Currently using a 13" piece of railroad rail as anvil.

Tons of mistakes in this one. 6" blade with only 3.5" handle is a bit too small for my hand. I started with 1095 bar. I think I quit forging too soon (overly excited) because it came out to almost 3/16" on the spine. Quenched in olive oil. File tested fine. Tempered in oven 400 x 2hrs. to approx wheat color. Reduced the mass of the blade w/ angle grinder.

I basically just need to learn grinder technique. This one came out with more of a hatchet/axe grind. It's a bit of an orphan, not quite a cooking knife but an odd shape for a camp knife. Cocobolo handle sanded to 800 and brass pins. Nothing other than the oil on my hands to finish the wood, but will get some wax on it.

FirstForge_DSC3994.jpg

FirstForge_DSC4026.jpg
FirstForge_DSC4013.jpg

Too many mistakes to count, but it was fun and will at least cut an onion or open a box. Am looking forward to my next attempts. I made denim micarta scales which I am excited to see on a knife. Then I am getting some nice burl scraps from my furniture-maker brother gratis, but it didn't want to waste one on my first solo attempt.

What the hell...
Seems you had fun anyway.

Fwiw, back when smithing paid a good share of my bills, I sold hundreds of of knives not too dissimilar. The buckskin & flintlock play actors wet their breeches for tools roughly constructed what fit their persona timeframe & style.