Folders (non Busse)

littlehoot

Gold Member
Ok guys, I need some recommendations for good folders for a coworker. (No fixed blades on person in the plant)

A coworker friend is enquiring, and I have little knowledge in this area.

C6312111-019E-48DA-BCBE-700C3C8A4479.jpeg

Benchmade 275 . It’s about as strong as a production folder can get . It’s the only D2 blade I’ve ever really liked .. takes a beating.

Ive had the black one in the pic since 2011 ( I think ). That knife has proven itself so far. Im not really a benchmade fan , or a d2 fan but that one is done well.

Last edited:
Well I like to have a Benchmade Adamas available 24/7 its usually stowed in an EDC bag, I found the Benchmade Griptillian to be a good pocket carry knife I usually go for the Wharncliffe style of blade as its less pointy and stabby looking, when considering other people around that might freak out. Well I am assuming your coworker doesn't want to spend lots of money I would say try either a Buck 112 or a Spyderco Delica.

Custom I think the best bang for the buck is Dave Curtiss. Amazing consistency, quality control and totally underappreciated. I think those tides are changing recently as second hand prices are on the rise but you can still find his more plain ones with little to no use for the $500 range +/- $75. That's for a custom folder with all the modern amenities, made by one man in one shop. He even makes the pivots and screws. I have 2 mediums & 2 larges one in each blade style. In my opinion the wharncliffe he makes is more practical for EDC, nice belly, nice enough point and a nice slicer.

If he doesn't mind foreign Shirogorov is excellent, maybe falls just short of the hype but really nice knives. You'll have a few more hondos in one of those.