Folding Bushcraft Knife that is usable/comfortable - by Daniel Koster

Can a folding bushcraft knife compete with the fixed blade version?

• I'm intrigued

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I'm skeptical

• I'm against it

• Sign me up!

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Daniel Koster

www.kosterknives.com
Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
Shouldn't it be possible to make a practical, comfortable folding knife that could stand up to bushcraft/survival use with few compromises?

I've been mulling around this idea for about 11 years now. And I've finally found a way to make it happen.

Here's the story that started it all:

I was camping with relatives who knew I was into knives. I pulled out a knife I had made and gave it to someone to do some woodcarving, whitting, fire-prep, etc. They loved it so much they held onto it the entire trip. So, naturally, I had to go to my backup - which at the time was nice folding knife. It had a hollow grind but a thick edge that I put a large secondary bevel on and it push-cut like a dream. So I figured I'd have a pretty good time testing it out. It only took about 15 minutes before my hand was starting to hurt and then after 30 minutes of constant use I had to put it down. Calluses aside, I was in serious pain. Fast forward a couple years to a passaround I participated in here on Bladeforums with the Hossom Retribution #1 & #2. I was very curious to try these out because it was a rare full-sized handle on a folding knife. Aside from the handles being too short on one and too long on the other, I found the overall size very comfortable to use. However, it lacked a full-length backspacer and the crazy curves in the blade and handle made it impractical for serious bushcrafting.