For the Camera Knowledgeable

leatherman

leathermoderator
I really need to eventually get a better camera, I have had a nice 35mm for many years and I really like the platform. I'd love to have a digital camera in the same format/size ie interchangeable lenses and lots of adjustment possibilities. So far though, the cameras that have caught my interest have been rather expensive, the Cannon Rebel being one of them and at nearly 800.00 its a little steep for this poor leather bender. :eek:

Would it be best to just "bite the bullet" and start saving for one? If so whats the better brand?

Any suggestions are welcomed. :)

I am not a camera expert, but if you already have the Nikon lenses you should definitely stick with Nikon... the Digital SLR's will accept the 35mm Lenses, the Digital sensor is smaller than 35mm so the angle number designation on your lens will be a bit off when using 35mm lenses with Digital (18mm becomes something like 14mm) No big deal. They offer Digital lenses that make up for this difference so they may have Digital lens specific mounts these days.

My recommendation would be to get one of the older Digital SLR models instead of the newest one the D200 is a great Professional model, I have the D50, D100, and D200 and love them. The lenses are what are expensive so I am stuck with Nikon. Hope this helps.

It would help if we knew what you already have. A used DSLR is likely the way to go, but still expensive.

:D Now you all have me curious, I haven't brought out my 35mm gear in ages! The camera is a Pentax, that much I remember, but I bought a couple of lenses after the fact. The camera was purchased in 84 or 85 iirc so its a little old, but has some automatic functions. So I figured it was out of the running as far as its additions being able to be used on a future camera. I had no idea there were some overlaps as far as lenses, now I have a whole new area to explore!!!