Gerber LMF II or Cold Steel SRK

I am seriously debating between these two knives. I know there have been other threads about these knives but a lot of them dealt with previous versions with different steel compositions. Between the current LMF II with 420HC steel and the SRK with the AUS-8 steel which would you guys pick for usually uneventful back packing trips? I'm also kicking around the Gerber Prodigy. I have no experience with Gerber but my Cold Steel Recon-1 has been excellent.

for the price of both knives Id rather buy a becker bk2. But to answer your question, AUS8 is a better steel than 420HC without the heat treat in play. SRK would be my option.

See if you can fine a Carbon V SRK. AUS-8 is far from the worst steel in the world, and Cold Steel does a good job heat treating it. But I'd still prefer a used SRK in Carbon V over a new one in Stainless. Also I prefer the old sheaths to the new plastic ones.

Between those two, Cold Steel SRK, better of the two and cheaper.

But for $5 more than an LMF you can get an ESEE 4 or the same price as the SRK, a Becker BK2.

Watch out the the ESEE knives. They make look nice but the handles are very specific. A lot of people love them, but a lot of people hate them as well. I have owned an Izula, ESEE-3, ESEE-4 and ESEE-6. Only the 6 felt okay in my hand. And I think that I have normal sized hands. The becker and cold steel handles are much more comfortable for a much larger range of people in my opinion.

As a matter of fact my latest buy is the Gerber Prodigy, although I haven't quite field-tested it yet! But from the feel of the
knife itself, it is remarkably well balanced and fit very well in my hands. Tried the LMF II as well but found it strangely butt
heavy and weirdly balanced to the rear....just didn't feel right in the hands!! As for the reviews on the SRK.....it's all great.
AUS8 is good steel, so it would primarily boil down to personal preference....and the perpetual question about plain edge or