hamon line

Bailey Knives

Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
I am a beginner, and I have noticed some beautiful hamon lines here on the bladeforum site. I was wondering what is the best way to make them stand out so well. I have done differentially hardened edges, but a distinct hamon line has eluded me so far. I would appreciate any help.

P.S. My name is Matt Bailey, for the "Who the heck are ya" thread. Pleased to meet you all. you people make some beautiful knives. I aspire to make one that is as nice looking as yours.

There's 2 main ways to bring out a hamon. One is the Japanese method of polishing with waterstones, it's an art and takes some practise to do well. The other is an acid etch. To etch you submerge your blade in the acid for x amount of time (x will depend on your acid, strong acid could be counted in seconds, cold vinager would be an overnight affair), clean off the oxides, then etch again. It will take a few times to make the hamon start showing well, continue until you are happy with the results.

There are a ton of ways to do it, but to start out, do like AwP said with the Ferric chloride etchant (found at Radio Shack) then use flitz to clean off the oxides.

What these guys aren't telling you is that even with acid etching you need a good finish first. The better the finish (higher the grit) the better your hamon will look. Check out this thread and on Page 3 you'll see some pics I've posted of recent work. Those all have up to a 400 grit satin finish. Burchtree brings his knives to something like 1000+, I think, but he has a lot more time on this hands than I do! :)

Seriously, though, the better your finish the better that etch will be. If you can see the hamon pretty good without etching it'll really look great when you etch. A good solid 320 grit finish is about as low as you could go, and if you are at 320 already you may as well go to 400, and then to 600 (why not)? :D