Handgun calibers...

Hey, I was just wondering if any of you gun knuts knew of any sources debating the real difference in stopping power between 9mm, .40, and .45? I've seen different things that go each way, and none have been terribly good or objective. In a real fight, would the extra power of the .45 be worth the weight, smaller mag. cap., and higher recoil? Or is a 9mm just too wussy to get the job done in your opinions. I'm a gun newbie and really don't know.

Thanks, guys!

Nam

I think anyone with experience will agree that accurate placement of rounds in the target is more important than the caliber.
Many many people have been killed with a single .22 in the head. (Just ask the Mossad.)

Having said that, there are some differences, but in reality I doubt the differences will matter too much. My friend Mayhem was shot once in the chest and killed instantly by a psycho using a 9mm. Mayhem was 6'6" tall and 350 pounds.

The 10mm was originally supposed to be the wonder round that had the speed of a 9mm and the weight of a 45, but it was so hard on the pistol that they came up with a reduced power round called the 40.
(You guys can check my facts, but I think thats a fair summarization)

As a compromise between heavy bullets and fast bullets, the 40 does a really good job and I would love to have one.
Of course, if offered a 9mm or a 45 I would love to have one of them as well.

Aim straight and you'll be fine.