Handle Question From Newb

Hello sirs and ma’am’s. I’m Cam. This is my second knife. Been a knife guy since I was a little dude. 32 now and am finally pulling things together for my newest hobby. Having way too much fun working with steel and wood, I’m a stone guy by trade, counter tops, so I’m versed in shaping, sanding and polishing, thankfully. To the point:

After I cut and shaped this steel I realized the handle was too short. In the pics you can see what I did to elongate the handle. I haven’t seen anyone do this with a handle before. It feels awesome in my hand but I worry that there is a reason no one that I’ve seen has used this extra wood for a sort of pommel.

This knife wasn’t made for a specific purpose, I made the blade and handle on the fly in a practice of knowledge building. Steel is from an old Palastani katana my mom bought for me when I was young, the handle was broken in transition to our new home a few years ago. Spring cleaning was about to see the steel in the trash but I had a different idea. I’m about to start on the third knife out of that katana. FYI the steel is actually pretty good. I’ve got an O1 blank headed my way.

tldr; Is using the wood to elongate the handle as I’ve done generally accepatable?

Thank you.

Welcome and hello. That is a very neat shape, looks very good and utilitarian at the same time. As for doing something in a certain way, I am not a knife maker but from what I understand, you basically made a hybrid tang. At least that's how I would phrase it, there certainly are types of knife tangs that don't extend all the way to the of the scales/handle, so it's not particularly unusual, I would see it more as a visual thing, if you do a full tang you generally make it flush with the back of the scales/handle. I could see the possibility of cracks forming where the tang ends if there are harder impacts like stabbing or batoning but aside from that I don't see a functional problem.