Handles for puukkos

So I have just found out about Laurin Metalli blanks and want to build a few. My dilemma right now is handle material. I would like to use material from the woods but really do not want to wait for seasoning. I'm an amateur, so let me know if this is possible. Go in woods harvest dead standing/ dead branches. Cut to size and throw in oven and slowly "cook" them. There was a YouTube video of someone doing this. I feel like they shouldn't warp much because they will be blocks not thin slabs. Proceed with making the knife via hidden tang, epoxy method. Give it a soak in boiled linseed oil when done.

So if I do this what should I look out for in potential problems with the knife? Any further recommendations on ways to go on this way would help.

Thanks

Spalted birch is popular for puukkos (Roselli) -- you can find sources on-line (Google). I use tung oil on mine as it lasts longer than linseed oil. Give us some pix when you're done.

The problem with cooking wood blocks isn't really warping or splitting as long as it's already most of the way dry, it's the checking. The water leaves the wood disproportionately through the ends versus along the grain, and that causes cracks at the ends. Coating the ends to slow down the wicking action will reduce the checking. Paraffin and beeswax won't survive the heating process, but a couple of coats of Boiled Linseed Oil on the ends might be enough. The big trick is to find the piece you want and give yourself at least a couple of inches on both ends so that if they do start to check they can just be cut off. Don't get in a rush and bake it off in an hour, take your time.