Heat Treating W2

Hi,
I'm a noob who has built his own 2x72 and ground bevels on about a dozen knives. Also have done lots of handles on knives and sheaths.

I have a local knife maker do my HT who does a ton of stainless steel knives for the meat processing industry, carving, and skinning. He has a great set up including a digital kiln and plasma cutter. Tons of experience with stainless like AEB-L and s35vn.

Recently I brought him some W2 blades I ground from New Jersey Steel Baron. He hasn't done W2 before and got info on HT from the net but it didn't work. Came out at 22HRC.

I don't know crap about HT in general. But the little I know is that W2 is better quenched in a brine and needs to lose heat fast when it is quenched.

Could someone please share a reliable heat treat process that I can pass on to Mike for when we try again on these W2 blades? Please note he does have a digital kiln. Thanks.

The stickys has a lot of W2 info in the Metallurgical Sticky. If you use the custom serach engine and search W2 HT you will get a lot more. Larrin also wrote a paper on it.

Also's W2 is 100% sheroidal. It needs a pre-heat at around 1650F with a 15 - 20 minute soak, and a coolinbg before the final HT. Done right, it will hit Rc 66-67 as quenched.

There is a ton of information on this site if you search it. My New Jersey Steel Baron W2 recipe is down in the shop, but is approximately this (I am making chef knives):

Normalize 1650F 20 min air cool and then repeat at 1500, 1450, 1425 for 10 min and air cool
Austenize at 1460 for 10-15 min quench in Parks 50
Tempering at 375 2x for 2hrs yields 62-63HRC

The stickys has a lot of W2 info in the Metallurgical Sticky. If you use the custom serach engine and search W2 HT you will get a lot more. Larrin also wrote a paper on it.

Also's W2 is 100% sheroidal. It needs a pre-heat at around 1650F with a 15 - 20 minute soak, and a coolinbg before the final HT. Done right, it will hit Rc 66-67 as quenched.