Help me aquire a Chef Knife.

FOG2

Gold Member
I cook for a living and i'm a knife nut. For the past few years the lightly modified Mundail 10 inch x 2.25 cook/chef knife shown below has served me well.
20181227_135408.jpg
But I now would like to acquire something similar but in a better steel.
Specs I would like in my new knife = at least the same length and width, but not opposed to longer and wider, Stainless steel and hopefully a wooden handle.
The knife will be used daily but well cared for and will be used on Veggies and Boneless meats.
A Laser type knife is intriguing to me but in truth the Mundail I am using is the best and most used knife I have experience with in kitchens. (Yes I know thats sad)
If possible I would like for it to be made by one of the craftsman that frequent this subforum.
My budget would be $300.00 so that might mean not a Custom knife but a production one.
I haven't found a production knife in the specs I've spoken of tho.
Let the hunt begin!

While I don't own one, I think a Richmond (it's a large retailer's house brand name) 210mm Gyuto in BD1N would require hard look. Less than $100 and can currently be had with a "complimentary" bread knife. I'm never totally sue what vendors are okay to link to but you shouldn't have any trouble finding it.

I have BD1N in a Yaxell Dragon Fire Asian and love it but I'm not sure it's what I'd choose to grind away with all day in a professional environment. Although, having said that, you might give one of their BD1N nakiri's a look. I'm experimenting with nakiris (home cook) and really warming up to the blade style for veggies and light meats like chicken breast and such.

EDIT: Sorry I missed the 10" or longer requirement. Not sure if they offer a longer one.

Thanks for the suggestions!
I need to research the production knives as I didn't see blade widths shown at 1st glance.

I do hope some of the makers here have or can make one for me. Altho I understand my budget may not allow it.