HI M43 Review

Hey Folks,
After having gotten superb direction and information from this forum, I placed an order for an HI M43 and I finally have it here in hand so I am posting a photo review if anyone is interested. The blade is amazing and if you don't already own one and you are on the fence I can truly agree with the members on the forum that you should indeed pick one up. Its a functional piece of history and one of the finest hand made blades I have ever seen though admittedly I am far from an expert so take that into consideration as you read my review.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Himalayan Imports M43 Khukuri Official write up from their site (http://yhst-7333098713883.stores.yahoo.net/index.html):

M43

Based on the WWII khukuri, the M43, which was designed as an update of the Mk II which was basically a WWI design. The new knife had a stronger grip attachment system, a wider pommel and better bolster design at the blade. The balance is slightly more forward and the blade could arguably considered stronger.

My Khukuri's specs are as follows:

Overall Weight (knife only): 2.2 lbs.
Overall Length: 19"
Blade Length (not accounting for curvature): 11 7/8"
Blade Length (allowing for curvature): 12 1/8"
Blade Width (at thickest point): 3/8"
Handle Material: Horn

Here it is in the sheath and out:
LxcCJ0q.jpg

s394OUc.jpg

I'll come back to the blade itself, but first I will address the sheath and accessory knifes.

The sheath itself I am not impressed with, the blade fits quite loosely so that if worn on a belt - a light run would cause the blade to bounce and anything faster would be dangerous as the cutting edge would be able to cause injury. It also had two significant scratches to the leather, obviously not hindering the functionality, but for a new knife this was a let down as it was the first thing I saw upon unboxing the blade.