High alloy bainite: why not?

Rsq

Background:
I just bought a lovely little k390 puukko from Todor Hristov, and while asking him about his heat treat and perusing the datasheet, something struck me. You never see high alloy bainite, presumably because it takes so long to grow, but there's no reason you COULDN'T force the transition.

I'm a mechanical engineer, so while I'm not a metallurgist or a materials scientist, I am reasonably comfortable with cct and ttt phase diagrams.

[It would surprise me if anyone on this board needed the background, but in case anyone reading this is wondering why I would wonder this, you can read all about bainite and mixed phase bainite here
https://knifesteelnerds.com/2018/07/09/bainite-vs-martensite/
and why it's rarely used in high alloy steels (it's often that it just takes too long, but both carbon and alloys that improve martensite (unlike Boron) can also inhibit bainite growth).]

I'm not sure how k390 compares to other high alloy steels in this regard, but If you look at the K390 datasheet, there's a CCT diagram on page 12. It looks to me like you can continuously cool according to selected cooling rate to attain a wide and controllable mix of martensite and bainite, with a consistent 10-12% RA, independent of the bainite/martensite ratio.

https://www.acerosbohler.com/media/productdb/downloads/K390DE.pdf

K390 seems like an excellent candidate for this because of both its ability to get very tough for its carbide fraction, even as full martensite, as well as the fact that no matter what you do to it, it will precipitate enough very hard carbides that it will exhibit ridiculous wear characteristics at any hardness. You can read about a really interesting (although not useful for cutlery, since we know we need high hardness to get a good edge) approach to K390 here

https://iopscience.iop.org/article/10.1088/1757-899X/118/1/012022/pdf