How do I fix a dull point with the Sharpmaker?

I recently purchased a Sharpmaker 204 which I really like. I ended up with a super sharp edge, but messed up by rounding off the point of the blade by allowing the blade to slip of the edge of the hones--which I didn't like so much.

Question: how do I get the point of my blade pointy again with the sharpmaker? I read one post here that suggested using the sharpmaker in "flat" mode. If so, what angle should I choose? Which specific surfaces of the blade should I sharpen? Just the lateral sides, etc.?

I'm new at this, so any specific suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

sggo,

Let me see if I can help you. Picture, if you will, a conventional flat sharpening surface--stone, diamond, ceramic, or whatever. For the sake of convenience, picture something wider than the flat side of a triangular Sharpmaker rod. Published sharpening instructions typically call for a slicing motion, drawing the edge along the stone from choil to tip. In order to preserve (or in your case, restore) the tip, your objective should be to always have a portion of the edge in contact with the stone, throughout the entire stroke. To make a good, clean edge you have to maintain a consistent angle throughout the entire stroke. As you sharpen, picture in your mind's eye the edge actually engaging the abrasive surface. Try to keep the edge engaged with the stone, right up to the tip. When the edge comes in contact with the stone right at the extreme tip (with a tiny bit of flat edge surface still engaged), STOP. (By "edge surface" I don't mean the side of the blade, but rather, the flat part of the actual edge bevel.)

Now, if you picture this process in your mind, you'll see that a wide stone is easier to use than a skinny Sharpmaker rod: you have a lot more leeway as to where you finish your stoke, and it's a lot easier to keep the tip from dragging over across the edge of the stone. That's how the tip got rounded off in the first place.