How I dye Becker Micarta

When I first had this idea I did a little research and asked a few questions. I was told you cant dye finished Micarta. I decided to try anyway.

Now I wont deny the smart way to control the color of Micarta is before its impregnated with resin.

But I have been doing it for about 3 years and am happy with it.

I am calling this process semi permanent. It will eventually start to wear off. The rougher you are on it the faster it will fade.

I have found that I like to re dye it about once a year and re wax it 3 or 4 times a year. Keeping it waxed makes the dye last longer and the wax is very grippy.

If you don't like the idea of having to maintain this, it might not be for you.

Try this at your own risk.

A lot of the steps are to your own personal preference. You control how rough or smooth they come out. You control how light or dark they are.

This is a very simple but somewhat time consuming process. Lots of waiting in between steps.

New Micarta needs less prep work. Old Micarta that has darkened from use and the oil in your hands will need more cleaning up to properly absorb the dye.

Step 1.

Clean and prep Micarta.

With new Micarta this can be as simple as wiping down with a warm wet rag. I like to dry it out for a few hours at least after getting it wet before dyeing.

With dirty micarta I sand it then clean it.

I like to sand mine very smooth. I use 400, 1000 and 1500 grit sandpaper. The wax not only protects the dye but provides enough grip for me.

If you like your Micarta rougher for more grip, sand less or not at all.

Step 2.

Dye.

I use Fiebings Proffesional Oil Dye for leather. I like dark brown but you can do any color you want I assume. I have done brown and black. Black hides most of the "grain"