How to: G10 scales for my Benchmade 585 mini barrage

This is my first post on this forum, so I hope this is the right place to post this. Also, I'm not sure if it allows post editing or if I'll just have to make follow up posts below, so here it goes...

Like many, I was disappointed by the texture of the scales (grips) on my mini-barrage 585 after receiving it. This is one of the reasons so many people opt for the mini-griptilian.

Spring assist was a must have for me, so I decided to look into new scales for my newly acquired blade. The options were:
1. spend about $108 for a set of custom G10 scales
2. Stalk and hunt down a rare 585-1 (shot show exclusive with factory g10 scales)
3. Upgrade to the 586 with half aluminum/half G10 scales (don't like the aluminum)
4. Make my own

So, being a broke college student, I opted for #4. I found 1/8" g10 material with a nice texture here and bought it for about $9 shipped:
http://usaknifemaker.com/handle-mat...-36/g10-black-peel-ply-coarse-medium-1-8.html

I also wanted to pick up a set of the coarse texture, but they were out of stock. Maybe in a couple weeks...

Last edited:
Using my T6 torx head tool from the benchmade blue box kit, I pulled off one of the factory scales and used them to outline the pattern and hole positions with a scratch-all on the peelable portion of the G10. Then, I drilled pilot holes with a 1/16" drill bit in the appropriate places.

IMAG0102_zps24a8da7c.jpg

IMAG0101_zps56a7c26c.jpg

IMAG0103_zps05a491f1.jpg

Last edited:
Or maybe you can custom make the bolsters for your 586 in G10.

Last edited:
After that, I enlarged the axis lock holes and connected them to form the slot.

I then cut out the outline of the scales with a hack saw and finished off the edges with a variety of hand files (a dremel with a sanding drum can also be used)