Recommendation? Hunter/Skinner super steel selection

Ok so I know this has been asked 100 times, and I have read 100 posts but I can't make up my mind.

I want to make a run of hunting knives. Simple, drop point style 4-inch blade .125-.18 thick. I am used to doing kitchen knives and I have no experience with higher alloy steels. I mainly use w2, 1095, 26c3, aeb L, and 52100. I have a HT oven/foil/plates/etc and the capability to HT just about anything. I'm looking into steels like D2, Z wear, 3v, 10v, etc. I want a knife that will have high toughness and good edge retention to handle skinning and hunting tasks easily. However I don't want to get into steels so "super" that sharpening becomes too difficult, I want to find that balance. Anyone who has used or worked with these steel please lend some knowledge or advice.

A2 @62 has worked very well for the knives of this type I make. Many have gone to professional guides and outfitters and ya know you're getting it right when they order more.

Any of the lower carbide PM tool steels work well. I have used M4 on many butchering jobs in the field and is is a favorite, good wear resistance but still fairly easy to sharpen on a small EZE-LAP pocket stone.

10v in my opinion is beyond easy field maintenance.

CPM Cruwear/Zwear are also a favorite.

I have found that for field butchering I like a hardness of 61rc and above as the increase in yeild strength is very helpful in decreasing rolled edges with bone contact.

Cpm3v has a great balance of super toughness and edge retention. Sharpens up without too much hassle as well.

I’ve never made a knife out of it but had a knife made with cpm s90v. Everyone told me how hard it would be to sharpen. It wasn’t. It would take a razor edge and keep it through months of hard use. It was also tough as nails. I lost that knife about a two years ago and I still haven’t gotten over it.