hunting for a heat treat oven

Sam Eddleman

Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
my knife making is getting more serious and now i am looking to buy a heat treat oven soon. i am trying to get the most for my money. i am looking towards a paragon, but came across sugar creek industries - big knife kiln. has anyone heard of or used one? i am wanting a 24-36" oven. any feedback on the subject or recommendations will be greatly appreciated.

I've been using the sugarcreek for about 6 months now and love it! My pal,Terry Guinn reffered it to me.he's been using it for several years with great results!!get the digital controller and you'll be in heatreat heaven :thumbup:

It is my opinion that a good used PID controlled industrial furnace off ebay or similar may be a better value than a new furnace that caters to knifemakers. A knife making buddy of mine has an evenheat (I think) and I was surprised how long it took to get up to high temperatures. It seamed like it was close to an hour to hit temps suitable for S30V or D2. An industrial unit, like Lindbergh Blue, gets up to temp for O1 in a few minutes and D2 a few minuets more, the elements are not exposed, there is a gas port and the fuzzy logic PID controller works very well and it doesn't get very hot on the outside.

Just food for thought, you should at least look at used industrial units. They sell new in the $3,000 - $6000 range, but sell used for much less. You might get more furnace for the same money.

Rashid I'm really interested in you diy heat treat oven wonder in you could post some pics of the oven body. What type of sheet metal did you use and is there a wiring schematics.

Datsun - the exterior is made from some thin sheet metal (alum?) I got at lowes.
Anything will work, really. You do need to weld together the frame that holds the thing
together. Lowes sells some iron - strips and angle iron. To save, see if you can get it at a local steel supplier.