Hunting sheaths?

Novak77

Gold Member
Hey all,

I'm new to the forum and this is my first post. This might be a silly question. But why don't a lot of the hunting/bushcraft sheaths come with a snap/handle retention strap on them?

I'm prior service Army Infantry so maybe I'm looking at this from a tactical standpoint. I recently bought a Bark River Gunny Hunter and its a killer knife, but the sheath leaves me wondering if it will hold the knife in there?

This is my first time deer hunting (been bird hunting for 5 years now). I guess my concern is me rolling down a hill or taking a spill and my knife not being in the sheath when I get up. I know that might sound silly but I like to prepare for the worst case scenario.

Any advice/input would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Novak77, A well made pouch sheath will hold the knife at least as well it not better than a snap retention type. When I finish mine, the final test is to turn it upside down and try to shake it out, if it comes out, then back to the drawing board. A pouch sheath also allows easier access and you won't have a strap to become damaged. rtmind/Randy

There are sheaths and there are sheaths...
A well made pouch can and will have a snap fit that will be quite secure.
A mass produced, one size fits many, pouch sheath may not be all that secure.
If you are worried about it, carry it in your pack. You'll have plenty of time to get it out when your game is on the ground.

Oh, and that upside down shake test?
Be careful with that eh?
A long time ago and not too far away that test got me some stitches...

Agreed. Good sheaths can be fitted so that a strap is not only not necessary but a hinderance. Look at the pic below. He's wearing one of my knife and sheaths above his left front pocket. Lots of G's here. Way more snap than taking a tumble.

okN6D3y.jpg

My sheaths see a lot of rough country use and no straps, Nevada.

MU8YGvr.jpg

France:

zlisKYP.jpg

Here in Cali:

DQYpYQZ.jpg

pSS4KON.jpg

GDf57cE.jpg