I am new to knives and the whole community

I recently sprouted an interest in Knives, but when I try to look stuff up I get overwhelmed. Like people discussing blade metal. Is there any good sites to go to or any blades for beginners I could purchase?

Welcome. :)

You've already found the site you're looking for. It's right here. Unfortunately, there is no real shortcut, it just takes some time. Just start pulling up threads that draw your interest and go "down the rabbit hole" so to speak. When you come across a term you don't know, or something you would like to know about... Use the search function (or a search engine and just add "bladeforums" to whatever you're trying to look up), and go down go down the rabbit hole again. Three years ago, I was in your shoes.

As far as a good starter knife goes, a budget and blade length would help a lot. Knowing which country you are located in would also be helpful.

Generally, I'll recommend either an Ontario Rat 1 or Rat 2 (depending on the size you want) to most people who want their first decent knife.

Buy cheap to start with. And there are plenty of budget knives that would technically do you for the rest of your life.

And the reason for this is. Say you jump on line and some expert says a kurkuri is the all round bestest knife you can own.

So you go buy the best one you can find.

But you lose it or break it. Or it is too heavy. Or just not the tool you specifically need.

Then you are out a crap ton of money.

Last edited:
Welcome aboard; you picked a great place to learn, interact and be a knife knut.

Much good advice given thus far.

Start out inexpensive as mistakes, dislikes (catch & releases) and evolving tastes won't put you in the poor house.