In praise of my sharpest blade: the Opinel N°7!

I cleaned and lubed my Opinel N°7 before heading to work this morning. With an extra ten minutes of spare time on my hands, I decided to touch up the blade on my sharpening stone. It only took me a couple of strokes on each side of the blade before a shiny new edge appeared. I quickly tested the knife by slicing a piece of cigarette paper. My knife now is super sharp!

As an engineer, I admire the Opinel design!
I think that the combination of the old fashioned carbon steel, the thin blade stock and the superb convex blade grind add to its exceptional cutting ability. When it comes down to efficiently separating matter, I am yet to find a knife that cuts better then my Opinel!
The wooden handle and locking collar system are not high-tech, but the handle is robust and comfortable to hold, and the locking collar system is reliable.

These humble Opinel knives are truly a time tested design. They have been around for more then 100 years already! We can hardly imagine how many French farmers and shepherds have used these same knives.

I feel that the humble French Opinel knife deserves a moment in the sun today. That is why I started this thread. If you happen to have an Opinel lying around, sharpen it up and carry it for a couple of days. I am sure it will serve you well!

Agree! These things cut like a razor.

What was interesting to me, was the recent advancement in design that allowed the knife to lock closed as well as open. Goes to show that there's always room for improvement, even after after a hundred years.

As I told recently on another thread, the first pocket knife I was able to put a good edge on has been my Opinel 7 in carbon steel.
Opinels are not humble...they're just very good knives for the tasks they're supposed to do: slicing. The fact that they're cheap, or that someone doesn't like their look, does not change their value.