Knives 5&6 WIP -Gyutos

Blaster-6

Knife Engraver / Craftsman / Service Provider
Been away working and applying knowledge... Curse all of you who helped, challenged and motivated me to get into making these edgy objects!! I can't stop!! This is my first time posting any pics of my work. Learning this craft is an exciting yet humbling journey.

I've made a couple successful smaller knives and thought I'd jump in and try my hand at a gyuto. Always loved the shape and functionality. 15n20 at .09" from JT. So a few pics below.

I attemped to grind the bevel on the first one and it didn't go so well, complete amateurish job and I wasn't happy. I think I salvaged it but it's not perfect. The bevel line doesn't match up with the profile on the radius towards the tip. Hurricane Matthew rolled through so I built a file jig during the hurricane and proceeded to start my bevel on #2. Figured a file jig would help me keep that bevel line in better line with the profile on these longer blades. (Curse you all for making it look so easy!!) Anyway it was a lot of file work but I'm pleased with #2. Need to touch up and clean them.

Anyway, I think I'm almost ready for HT and handle prep. For HT I plan on a 2-3 normalizing cycles and then heating to around 1500/non-magnetic and quenching in an ammo can of canola oil (haven't invested in any Parks #50 yet - neccessary?). Haven't decided on handle material yet but plan on a traditional octagon shape over a pinned dowel rod. Slow process - not enough shop time between work, family and engraving stuff! Any tips would be appreciated.

8bbdfc9277719427c9361744f731bea9.jpg

Twins, cut from the same sheet of 15n20

0bf23cf9b496c985058fa3a91e641fd9.jpg

smoothed down.
6d265f2931aa7c5c34f233ec476c7afc.jpg

File work during Hurricane Matthew
afa3b87b0e1e9caa8025d7089f24a033.jpg

Progress
1e8b9ebc256e48b68072028809c30ecf.jpg

Left is bevel from my 2x72, right is bevel from the file jig. This is where we are today.