Leather vs Kydex

I am new to all of this, but i have always been a knife fan, and a leather fan, I have a decent little collection over the years of knives, some with kydex sheaths that have been purchased within the last 5 years. Most all have leather, some metal and some wood, and some crappy cheap things that I think are... I have no idea.. Are there benefits that kydex have that leather cannot do? I have some European knives that have leather and they are over a hundred years old, so can't be longevity really. I've seen leather used for tactical applications, wilderness/survival, etc..

I am not trying to start a flame war just curious is all. I have made a couple of small sheaths with kydex and granted it was quicker, cheaper, and easier to do than with leather (initially), but to me completly lacked any and all appealing qualities, a lot like the vehicles from the 40's-50's versus the cars today (not including the specialty vehicles)

This could get very interesting :)

Oh well " nothing ventured , nothing won " .
I personally think of leather the same way that I think of Carbon blades and wooden gunstocks .
The personality that time and honest use imparts apon them , tell a story and are a kind of road map of their life , and the journeys and adventures they have had .
I have nothing against Kydex , stainless steel , or plastic - fibreglass stocks . I actually own all of those things , but leather is better in my world . I have spend to much time trying to make things with it in the last few months to think otherwise :)

Ken

Been working with leather and wood since my Boy Scout days in the early 70's, not until around 2003 did I ever get any knife wrapped in plastic. That was the most awkward moment in my life. :p

I quite honestly cant think of where either material has any major advantages over the other. Its personal preference IMHO.

To each their own, and no one is wrong in their own choices.