Like minded gentlemen.... I need your opinion. (Heavy duty folder)

Hey guys, i kind of hate to ask this, but i used the search and couldnt quite find what i was looking for.

I like my knives to be users. I have very few blades that would still be considered "good" condition (mostly sentimental stuff), but otherwise i thrash on my knives, and thats the way i like it. I love esee's blades, but some times the trusty izula just isnt right for my situation. Let me explain.

I am a college student, and i have always carried a knife with me. Now the izula is pretty easy to conceal, but some times a folder just makes things easier. I can bury it deep in my pocket when im in class, not have any issues with other students/teacher, and then use it when im out of class. But i dont want to sacrifice blade strength, thickness or quality in a folder. My current folder is the Benchmade HK Ally, which is nice, but i hate serrations on a blade that small.

The other problem is when it comes to price. Id love to pick up something like the HEST folder, but $200 is waaaaay out of my price range. I spent all my money on the ESEE 6, and have been slowly building up my knife money ever since. I have looked at a few things in the ZT line, but again they can be quite spendy.

So what do you guys recommend as a good, thick, hard use folder for say... under $100?

Thanks for any info or opinions

Edit- Blade would preferably have
3-4 inch blade
decent steel (not stainless, but aus8 or higher)
frame or liner lock, or something i can easily close with one hand (ie not a back lock)
decent texturing on handle
deep pocket clip, tip up carry

knives I am considering -
ZT 0301, 200, 350
spyderco paramilitary 2, tenacious
Ontario Rat 1
Emerson... not sure what model yet

Last edited: