Recommendation? Looking for belt sander or grinder, not sure which

It is taking too long with a flat or rotary sander to reduce and shape the scales on my projects. I think I need to upgrade to a more powerful tool.

What do y'all suggest? A grinder? A belt sander? I have never used either and I don't really have a feel for what each can do.

I was envisioning one of those 2" belt sanders with a wheel on the side but I am no expert.

What brands, which models, how much power, what diameter and width, and so on?

I would like to spend less than $300 on this.

Enclosed are some before and after photos of an example project.

Thanks for your advice, folks!

63fdd013-257b-4a54-af19-1674eec23589.jpg

df8b300c-5dfc-4729-82a9-89897b02cb26.jpg

da331af9-d542-4f04-a9f7-843314abe637.jpg
77b20c37-eb5c-43df-b000-31be58d38e34.jpg

I have and use this almost everyday for about a year now and I like it. Is it a 2x72 or as good as one? Heck no! But it does get the job done if your using the proper belts for the task. The Craftsman would be better because of the greater horsepower if you can find one.

Combat has the 2 by 42 belts.

Even the 4x36 wood sander varieties should work well and many also come with a disk. I use a 2x42 like the Amazon link above with no complaints. 60 grit aluminum oxide belts are cheap and will hog off your excess material at a reasonable rate. Beware of overheating the wood and pins though. Just a few seconds, then check the temperature with your hand before going back to grinding.

Dont forget eye protection, ear protection, and a mask with filters. Gloves are up to your preference. Some do not like gloves with rotary tools, and others want to avoid removing their skin. Depending on the type of wood, you may need to keep the dust off your skin as well. The dust will go everywhere...

It is taking too long with a flat or rotary sander to reduce and shape the scales on my projects. I think I need to upgrade to a more powerful tool.