Lots of motor travel, want to build a decent survival kit, need a decent hawk/hatchet

I'm a doctor and ramble all over two states in my trusty Saturn between clinics. I'm working on laying in the panic bag, so to speak, first aid, fire, food and water, fire extinguisher, shelter and clothes, and one that comes to mind I need is a small hawk/axe/hatchet. Light is nice, as space is limited, and budget is tight. I can rework a mediocre piece if there's a gem beneath.

I've been looking at CS's Norse hawk and frontier hawk, seem pretty good- light, capable, don't need much to get right. I have a leather-handled Estwing hatchet I love, but I don't want to relegate it to trunk duty.

Any ideas?

I'm a doctor and ramble all over two states in my trusty Saturn between clinics. I'm working on laying in the panic bag, so to speak, first aid, fire, food and water, fire extinguisher, shelter and clothes, and one that comes to mind I need is a small hawk/axe/hatchet. Light is nice, as space is limited, and budget is tight. I can rework a mediocre piece if there's a gem beneath.

I've been looking at CS's Norse hawk and frontier hawk, seem pretty good- light, capable, don't need much to get right. I have a leather-handled Estwing hatchet I love, but I don't want to relegate it to trunk duty.

Any ideas?

A lot of people seem to love the cold steel hawks, but I'd recommend getting a vintage riggers axe head to functionally restore. You could also just get a new Vaughan. They're a great tool as they have a great bit profile but also have an actual hammer for a poll ( one of the cold steel hawk's sort of has a hammer but they're not hammer makers so I wouldn't trust it )

I like the idea of the rigging axe also and don't forget half a dozen 16p galvanized nails. I have had a go bag or in my trunk since 2003.