Maine Axes -post 'em up

EDIT Changed post title to Maine axes.

Idea from Crazyotter in another post on Snow & Nealley's.

Old Snow & Neally's and others (the ones actually MADE in Maine). Post 'em if you've got 'em.

S&N "Our Best" Hoosier:

S&N "Our Best" axe: (pictured on right)

Last edited:
square peg, i learn something everyday.:thumbup:

all good

the Hoosier pattern is crazy,:D i've never seen anything like it, looks like it'd cut coming and going

buzz

i have a nice S&N Penobscot bay , old school Hudson bay but i don't know how to add images to my post???

buzz

i went in today to buy the LL Bean boys axe...

someone else bought it last week... its my on damn fault:(

made by S&N...

My oldest axe in house, forge welded bit. 3lb. Very compact head shape.

I used this to chop thru a good size oak log it was big. I took turns with my Dayton Kelly perfect 3.5lb and my Council jersey both excellent axes. This one was the most comfortable to use I was able to chop for long periods of time before resting compared to the others. I finished the log with this one.
Pretty good splitter too. I haven't used it since it is on the mantle now. Pretty well worn. Probably 75 years old guessing.

p718220723-4.jpg

Thanks for all the comments on the Hoosier. I'll have to try it on softwood.

Sweet old axe Cattledog.

i have a nice S&N Penobscot bay , old school Hudson bay but i don't know how to add images to my post???

buzz

I use webshots.com. I post photos there (upload from my PC), then click on Link to It 9in the lower right hand corner), and then click on 600 and then select and copy the url under "Post in a Forum". Paste in the reply here and voila.

I'll add one I finished today.

Sharpened and hung this little Snow & Nealley 'Our Best' Chopper tonight on a 24" handle. I think this axe head was much longer. It was a quick and dirty job but it's a user. Also worked on a new old hammer for about 20 minutes.

Before (on right):

After:

Last edited: