Meat Cleaver.

I think they are cool, but as a home cook I don’t think I’ve ever needed a meat cleaver. I’ve been cooking for 30+ years now. I have one but really can’t remember actually using one for anything other than hacking through a chicken when I was younger.

Once you learn how to cut up a chicken you can easily do it with a chef knife. I’ve even used pairing knives to quarter a chicken. I’ve never bought a cut of beef that I had to hack through bones.

So besides cool factor what’s the point in a meat cleaver for a home or even professional cook?

I set the cleaver out to find my wife using it to prep some food with. I asked her why she was using it and she said I forgot we had it and it’s freaking cool. While holding it like a Serial killer! Hahahahaha.

Spatchcocking a turkey is the only time I was tempted to bust out my 3 lb Mohawk. Full whole animal butchery they come into play or people that do pit BBQ like in Hawaii and Mexico want them. I rehab blades and large cleaver those are the people that get them.

There are "moderate" duty cleavers that are not bone and not Chinese that work good for carnitas or pulled pork to chop it all up.

A Chinese cleaver is a different story and IMO is a must have.

Spatchcocking a turkey is the only time I was tempted to bust out my 3 lb Mohawk. Full whole animal butchery they come into play or people that do pit BBQ like in Hawaii and Mexico want them. I rehab blades and large cleaver those are the people that get them.

There are "moderate" duty cleavers that are not bone and not Chinese that work good for carnitas or pulled pork to chop it all up.

A Chinese cleaver is a different story and IMO is a must have.

Lol no joke yesterday I ordered a Chinese Cleaver. I’ve never used one. I got a wild hair and decided to get one to try out. It should be delivered Monday.