Mechanic's Knife

Hello everyone, I am about to start a new job working changing tires and fixing tires and other mechanically inclinged stuff. I was wondering if you had any good suggestions for a good mechanic's knife- I think that means it should be tough, practical, and cheap in case it gets shredded. I already have a Cold Steel Recon, and I'll probably end up carrying a box cutter anyway, but give me suggestions. And wish me luck with an actual real job!

First, congrats on the new job. I've been a mechanic most of my adult life. It's been a great career track for me. As for a knife, almost anything will work. But I'll suggest a CRKT Razel. The leading edge works great as a gasket scraper or wood chisel when you need one. I have the large one. It's a hand filling heavy thing. And it's out of stock most places. But I see that BladeHQ has the small version in stock. And it doesn't cost much.

Be careful with a knife with a clip. Easy to scratch paint. And that's no way to get the boss on your side.

..... A leather man might be a great option too also.

I have several versions of Leatherman and multi tools. But I've never carried one at work. I have a Snap-On toolbox less than 20 feet away. OTOH, for a fella that spend most of the day standing at a tire machine, it may be a handy tool. The sheath eliminates the paint scratching pocket clip, but adds a belt buckle. (They do make mechanics' belts with covered buckles.)

SAK's are wonderful and should be about all you need in the Automotive world.
Also it fits nice in the pocket with no pocket clip to worry about.
I carry a Tinker in l.f.p. every day.

Cold steel Tuff Lite, or tuff lite mini. Small, box cutter appearance and toughest lock in the world. (Triad Lock). They come in different colors, and are completely utilitarian and cheap to replace.

I have three Recon 1's (two with the Triad lock, one with the old Ultra lock)