multi purpose knife wanted!

hi, all!

I am looking for a multi purpose knife.

I am quite new to the subject. I do have a leatherman wave but I'd like to have a "real" knife with me on my mountain hikes, backcountry hikes in norway or scotland or on boating trips.

the knife should be able to cut chips out of those handy magnesium fire starters as well as wood chips and strike a flint. of course it should be able to cut rope (serrated blade?), chopping ability is also required in outdoor life. I'd like to gut and cut fish and small animals with the knife. it should be resistant to rust and oxidation in corrosvie environments or should at least have a coating to minimize it.

I am willing to spend up to 300 $/EURO, as an engineer I am fond of material science and know the cost of high quality materials.

there is apparently a "one knife fits all" problem.

thanks for your help!!!

regards

mark

edited for additional info

Sounds like you are looking for something pretty heavy duty. Have you thought about an Emerson Commander or a Strider AR?
Good luck,
Matt

Welcom , mate. Enjoy your stay.

As to your question. I'm not sure what's available in the
market place in Europe so I'll give you a general answer.

Look for a common type of blade steel that will sharpen
easily on a rock it you have to. That would be the milder
carbon steel (coated) the the lower end stainless. Stay away
from hi tech wonder steels as they are to hard for pratical
field use. Look for a fixed blade in the 5" to 7" range with
a blade thickness of no more that 1/4" at the spine. A bit less
is good. The blade handle should also be of leather or natural
materials for comfort with wet /bloody grip hot or cold. The
sheath should also be of some type of plasitic metal lined ballistic
nylon cloth for wear and ventilation when wet. Waxed leather if
not. These same criteria apply to a larger folder as well with the blade
length limited to 4" to 5" employing a lockback or frame lock construction.