Photos My first lock-stitching project (& such)

OK so I realize this is the sheaths and such forum but is this not "& such" lol? I felt like this would be the subforum where I could get the best advice on my sewing... Mods if you don't want this here please move it to outdoor gear.

This is my first attempt at lock-stitching, note this IS NOT PPE, I won't even attempt to sew any eye-splices on actual PPE for a long time to come (and if/when i do I'll have them professionally pull-tested-to-yield before using another like it). This, and the next several I make will just be used as equipment tethers or other NON-PPE uses.

This is 7mm new england accessory cord (kernmantle rope), sewn with #002 kevlar thread and a rounded tip needle. On the 2 outer lines (what do you call a line of stitches?) I tried to grab about 1/3 of the kern on each pass, on the middle set of stitches i tried to keep it right down the middle of the kern. The breaking strength of this thread (I personally tested) is ~52lbs, the loop has a total of 40 stitches (third row not pictured, i was using my phone for music so didn't photo the first or last passes) meaning this should hold 2080lbs, yes the cord is rated MUCH higher but the hitch I tie (a 4 over 1 Distal) slips on 11mm rope at 1750-1800lbs so I have a slight margin above that (and again, this will never be used as PPE).

Im posting here in hopes that someone might have and advice / pointers or anything...

CFhZ2jA.jpg

rq4KbKJ.jpg

I'm sure most people here know how to lock stitch but heres a little step by step

Shove awl threw
UsFVqoV.jpg

Put bobbin end of thread threw
hB7Nwzu.jpg

Pull back out
PvuN0rE.jpg

I know litetally nothing about sewing, I'm a 30something year old dude lol. I'd be grateful for ANY advice anyone wants to give, even if it seems super basic to you I probably haven't heard it before...

Edit: couple finished pics
pjag79F.jpg

zhSOW3d.jpg

Last edited: