My leather HEST sheath-a review of sorts

Status
Not open for further replies.
This post is long overdue.

I've been using Jeff and Mike's knives for almost 10 years now. I think I started with a TAK when they were just coming out-maybe '01 or '02? Those old ones were almost crude in comparison with how refined the new ESEE's are.

I've already posted how well I like the HEST and what abuse I've put it through so I won't rehash that here.

I'm not a huge fan of the kydex and molle stuff (no offense to you tactisexuals). It definitely has its place, and I've got a lot of it, but I'm more a traditionalist so I wanted to get a better sheath for the HEST; something in leather.

Some of you on this forum recommended Dwayne at armoralleather.com. After a few emails, Stacy helped me decide on what I wanted. I can't say enough nice things about them. The communication back from them was always instant and very helpful. Don't you hate it when you contact a company and they act like you're bothering them? Or you just never get a response? These guys aren't like that. At all. I was getting emails back within 24 hours, even on weekends. Impressive.

I was a little high maintenance about some features, particularly the fit of the knife in the sheath and the sheath to the belt. I like a VERY tight fit. I don't like knife slop and I can't stand to have a sheath that moves around on my belt like some flopping Barney Fife holster. So, I stressed to Stacy this point and they were more than happy to comply.

The belt loop for this sheath can come in both horizontal or vertical options and I always use vertical so I went with that. And I found my largest width belt and requested that the loop be no larger than that width. They handled my requests perfectly.