necks knifes

Thin and light. I'm fond of the Spyderco Swick series which has the added benefit of still being able to use both hands while retaining the knife (due to the choil/handle finger hole). I also like the little CRKT Folts Minimalists because...small and light.

I rarely carry a neck knife, but boating is a good case for one, especially kayaking where you must remain sitting, and access to pockets can be difficult.

Neck knives aren't bad for a concealed backup either. Under the shirt, out of the way, hidden. But that's not exactly EDC friendly for access.

what do you like in a neck knife? Do you even neck knife?
I never wear neck knives around my neck. They are usually of a good size for throwing.
I’m not very good at throwing knives but continue to throw them anyhow.
EDC always goes in upside down. I think that’s because of it’s “humped” design.

A nice straight false-edge dagger design with a center groove to make it more CPKish, would make for a good neck knife... or boot knife.

When I carry a "neck knife", it's generally in my pocket. Not a fan of dangling, swinging sheaths...and putting it under a(n over)shirt or jacket removes the convenience.
I've got a couple that I like enough to have have sheaths made for, to allow for belt carry when I'm so inclined.

I carried one for a year or so, just to really get used to it, though I never stopped carrying a pocket knife. It is fairly convenient if worn outside of one’s shirt. I wasn’t keen on wearing it outside my shirt in public, and really didn’t like wearing it under my shirt. Having to dig it out, not to mention getting it sweaty when it was hot out really didn’t thrill me. It really came down to me not liking stuff around, and swinging from, my neck, so no more.