Need advice on what type of wood to use for target

I have an old room that I'm taking the whole wall and using it for throwing knives. It will have 2 targets (approx 4ft by 4ft maybe a little bigger) but I'm not sure what the best wood is to use for this. I'm taking the old paneling completely out and redoing the whole wall just in case I miss or someone else misses and it doesnt mess up the rest of the wall. I'm new to this for the most part. Any advice is appreciated. Thank you.

When I made one many years ago I used Green Pine (unseasoned). The board was made up of 3 pieces 3" x 10" x around 1m high. This worked really well and lasted for years. When you start throwing decent weighted knives at it the chips will start flying if it isn't green wood! The first board I made was with tounge and grove floor boards and that didn't last long! Ended up with big holes in it real quick.

End grain works better than vertical grain boards, with respect to sticking.

If you intend to go vertical grain planks and you have a whole wall, then run 3 or 4 cross boards all the way across the wall and then put up X number of planks edge to edge from one side to the other.

Negatives of this method - unless you intend to make the wall moveable so that you can access it from the rear, the planks will only be attachable via screws from the front, which would make for exposed screw heads to be hit with your knives/hawks/hatchets.

If you intend to put in an end grain target wall, you could go whole hog and make the whole wall a target - fixed boards on each side and a pair in the middle, stacked cross cut sections of 2x4, 4x4, 6x6, etc sections compressed from top to bottom with very long all-thread rod on each end and a couple of runs in the middle.