Need guidance on edge pro equipment

long time browser...finally registered.

Ive been maintaining my pocket knives for a few years with a sharpmaker and im ready to jump into the edge pro system as ive got a few dull kitchen knives that need attention as well. I was goimg to get the std apex 4 set until i stumbled on CKTG.....now im reading about the shapton glass stones and or looking to put together a set that i can grow with and build upon.

Ive recently acquired a pm2 s110v and M390 socom elite so i want to make sure i can keep those sharp as well.

I may have opened a can of worms, lol.

The standard Edge Pro stones are fine...but once you start getting into the higher carbide steels you'll most likely benefit from adding some diamond stones to your arsenal, whether plated, or bonded stones like the Matrix or Venev.

Shapton Glass are great hones but are going to be somewhat less effective once the Vanadium Carbide starts getting over 4% as a rule. (The discussion of carbide "tear out" remains somewhat controversial.)

So i guess my real questions is, with help from you all who have used the EP a lot, as someone starting out, what should i purchase. Am i wasting my time getting the apex 4 set?

I don't think it would be a waste. But you might add a stone or two along the way, whether they end up Silicon Carbide like the Moldmaster from Congress...or one or more diamond options.

Much will depend on what kind of edges you prefer to put on your blades. Coarse / toothy, fine / polished.

You don't have to have everything on day one. You'll get plenty done with the set as presently constructed.

Just my opinion. But beware, sharpening gear is every bit as addictive as the knives themselves.

Im catching on to that very quickly haha. Thats my point though. If i can cut to the chase and skip over some pieces now it will be cheaper in the long term.