Need Kitchen Knife Recommendation Confirmation

My wife is sick of having dull knives. They are an assortment of Henkel, Wustoff, not high end for sure. I spoke with a professional knife sharpener who handles most of the restaurants around here. He does not sell knives. He recommended Global, Shun and Cangshan. We have a Williams Sonoma outlet store here and he said you could find best deals on some of these knives there. The only knife set deeply discounted was Wustoff Craftsman, $500 to $300. Wife doesn't like Global so I think its Shun or Cangshan unless we think the Craftsman line is OK. I don't mind spending he money to get her about three good kitchen knives that will hold an edge. Be gentle. I'm new to this.

Kind regards and HNY,

Steve

Do not buy a Set, you end up with knives you won’t like, don’t need! No matter the BS the sales girl there will say that you save 20% with a set. Saving money buying knives you won’t use?? Yeah right!———————- ——Some of the knives you already have are usable. Take your wife to Sonoma and have her fondle a few , Global I recommend Way over Shun. Find two nice ones she likes. I suggest the Global Vegetable Chopper & the 8” Chef .. get the Paring & whatever else your wife likes of the old sharpened. She will have two top quality new ones ...

Do not buy a Set, you end up with knives you won’t like, don’t need! No matter the BS the sales girl there will say that you save 20% with a set. Saving money buying knives you won’t use?? Yeah right!———————- ——Some of the knives you already have are usable. Take your wife to Sonoma and have her fondle a few , Global I recommend Way over Shun. Find two nice ones she likes. I suggest the Global Vegetable Chopper & the 8” Chef .. get the Paring & whatever else your wife likes of the old sharpened. She will have two top quality new ones ...