New Rat 2 owner, have a question.

Hello all. I'm fairly new to knives and have really only owned Gerber Paraframes. I know they are cheap but they have always performed well for me as a work knife, and I love the solid frame lock lock-up. I have purchased 2 Kershaws but returned them immediately as I did not like the liner locks that engaged at 10-20%, and they all had L-to-R blade play.

After watching countless reviews, I decided on the Ontario Rat 2 in Aus-8 (I wanted AUS-8 so I can learn to sharpen properly before moving up to the higher quality steels). I got it for Christmas from my wife today, and like it a lot. It seems great- solid 50% lock-up , no blade play whatsoever, and the blade is perfectly centered. The only issue that I have is that the action seems really loose; so loose that I can hold the scales and flick the knife open completely without touching the studs or blade itself. Is this normal on this knife? I know people described it as "smooth"??
Thanks in advance

Merry Christmas Bluefox85. I also have the Rat 2 in Aus-8 but mine is not near as loose as yours. I have to actually pull on the blade to open mine. The pivot screw may need to be tighten a little on yours.

Sounds a bit too loose. You can disassemble the knife and bend the lock bar in a bit to increase the tension of the detent.

My advice though is to return it for a replacement from the dealer you bought it from.

I have five of these and they have detent strong enough to prevent the knife being able to open with a gravity drop.

They really are awesome EDC blades for the money.

Sounds a bit too loose. You can disassemble the knife and bend the lock bar in a bit to increase the tension of the detent.

My advice though is to return it for a replacement from the dealer you bought it from.

I have five of these and they have detent strong enough to prevent the knife being able to open with a gravity drop.