Newbie problems

I bought three throwing knives in the belief they would be balanced so that throwing them from most distances would result in them balancing out to straighten up and land point first.

Seems I was wrong and 24 attempts resulted in 3 successes.

Was I wrong in my expectations as otherwise I might as well have gone to my kitchen draw and used a steak knife?

Thank you

No there is not.

How you hold the knife and how you throw/release the knife also affects how the knife hits. Where the balance point is does matter, but not as much as some think.

Also the STYLE you are throwing affects where the "balance point" should be.

Are you throwing rotation or no-spin? What distance are you throwing from? What is your target made of and how is it constructed?

What knives are you using? Short? Long? Light? Heavy? These characteristics also affect how a knife flies/sticks.

Thank you.

As I said I'm new to this so hold the knife by the back and I presume it is spin.

Distances from 10 foot to 30 foot.

Target is an old fence panel

When I watch tv and they throw a knife in a film, there's no measuring of distances, they throw it and it lands point first every time, have you ever seen one not do that LOL

I have not got a lot of strength in my arms due to illness and so do not have a strong or accurate throw.

Thanks for any advice.

Are you set on throwing knives ?

Perhaps a set of Cold Steel throwing stars would be enjoyable.

Thank you for the suggestion but they don't do it for me the same as a knife.

I really am having trouble believing there is not a knife out there that is not balanced to land point first over almost any distance (No not 3 feet :))

As a would-be engineer surely if the pointed end (Say 25%) was heavier than the back end it would straighten out with the heaviest end facing forwards over let's say 20 feet?