Recommendation? Not your typical D2 steel knife: durability?(with photos)

A question regarding D2 steel, albeit with a caveat.....

So I was a fan of Resident Evil 4 and there was a knife used by a character in it. Saw a custom knife dealer and had a version of the knife made like.....

23969873_507384922968491_2033190496624443392_n.jpg

24177724_132595817438768_1974043015932542976_n.jpg

He made the knife suuuuuuuuuper thick (as in this is safely over a .25" thick, closer to thick kukri spine territory...possibly between 3/8 to 7/16" thick), and yet it holds a decently sharp edge and cuts anything nylon/cordura/tactical vest material like butter.....the overall length I think is about a good 3 inches longer than a kabar marine knife.

Well this thing lent so well to use that I wondered how it may fare to heavier use other than slicing. I know about the reputation of D2 being "brittle" but how brittle are we talking about? The thing pierces like a scorned woman's stare across a crowded room, solid wood benches get dug into about half an inch, but didn't know how dangerous that is for the point, albeit it terminates into a slope to point about half an inch or maybe 3/4" an inch from the slab like thickness.
24177268_169847073607673_6120376925635477504_n.jpg

Because of the thickness and blade geometry of this thing, would this thing be up to light chopping or at least splitting small logs with light batoning? I understand the brittle nature people fret over the steel about, but didn't know that since this thing was obstinately thicker than most knives, if that made the typical worries regarding D2 minor or negligible?

I am having to order a diamond rod sharpener in order to touch up this thing.
23735543_1136833783113915_909430256589340672_n.jpg

Daaaammmnnmm! That thing is fierce looking. Now I'm no metallurgist nor am I claiming to be, but I really don't think D2 is too brittle. If it has a relatively thick edge it should hold up to light batoning.