Ohio Knife Laws?

I'm a resident of Ohio, and am a little confused about our knife laws. Is their a blade length? If so, what is it? Can you conceal carry a knife(Folding or Fixed). Any info would be helpful! Thanks.

~Zach

Depends on where you live. Knife laws in Ohio, unlike gun laws, can vary from town to town. What's legal in Akron may not be in Cleveland or Columbus. Just about everything is OK to own/possess but carrying them can be a gray area. You cannot carry any "deadly weapon" CONCEALED in Ohio other than a handgun with CCW permit. So short blades that you can reasonably say are used as a "tool" are ok. Basically, Ohio laws are such that folding and fixed blades are OK to carry concealed if under a certain length (length varies based on municipality) provided you're not carrying them as a weapon. Switchblades, balisongs, and gravity knives are not allowed for concealed carry as they are principally classified to be "deadly weapons". Knives which are not suitable for CONCEALED carry can be OPENLY carried (not concealed) for "agricultural, hunting or utiliy" purposes. Spring assisted opening knives (not to be confused with automatic knives) are not considered switchblades and legal to carry concealed provided all the other conditions are satisfied.

Summary:
Short knives that are not weapons can be carried concealed as "tools". Legal length varies by local laws - typically 2.5 inches.
Long knives, balisongs, gravity knives, and switchblades are deadly weapons and can only be open carried for utility purposes.
Spring assist knives without a switch are not considered switchblades.