Once a blade begins to rust, does that mean the knife is ruined?

I'm new to knives and have been looking around for a good, general purpose knife. Originally I was looking at a KA-BAR D2 extreme or Next Generation. I'm also now looking at a Buck 119. However, alot of people are saying 1095 steel or 1095 CV is the best steel you can get. Now, I have never really understood how people can want a steel that will rust so quickly and kind of "punish" you by rusting if you accidentaly leave it for a few days uncleaned or don't dry it properly. I've never really liked knives that can rust either, simply becasue there is the fact that even when you think you've taken care of them, they can rust and I see this as putting your knife at a disadvantage to a stainless knife, and makes it less useful and less of a knife. I feel that it makes the steel itself less useful than a stainless, as it needs to be cared for more to get the same result. Anyway, I'm now also looking at a KA-BAR Becker BK7 or BK9, and some other knives made from 1095. I know the rust can be avoided if I oil the blade, but I have a few questions about the steel and maintenance.

1: Firstly, if you have a non stainless teel knife, made from 1095, and it begins to rust (due to the coating rubbing off or on the edge of the blade) does this mean the blade is screwed? Does the rust, once it starts, quickly etch into the blade and no matter what you do, you can't get rid of it and it will keep coming back, even if the blade is visually clean? I had a pocket knife which rusted, and tried to remove the rust, and oiled it etc. but the rust just kept coming back, so that has led me to believe that once a blade rusts, even lightly, it has set in permanently and no matter what you do it will keep coming back.

2: Doesn't the oil on a blade rub off with use? I know you're supposed to keep a light layer of oil on the blade, but wouldn't it wear off with use and expose the metal?