OT: barefoot running

I have been running barefoot for the last few months. I never could run before without my back and knees getting sore.

In the last few months, I've focused on improving my posture in an effective way and running barefoot, in addition to weightlifting which I've been doing for maybe 4 years.

It's a great feeling. Yesterday I ran for 2 miles. It is so enjoyable running barefoot.

Just wanted to share. Do you run? Have you ever run barefoot?

I've heard of this. How do you toughen the soles of your feet enough to run on surfaces other than grass? Is the theory that shoes are the cause of our anatomical problems? Moot point for me...arthritis in my left knee from too much distance running as a young man.

Jeff

You know that sounds poetic? Running Barefoot.

I can't decide if it's a book title, or a made for TV movie on the Women's channel about finally being free....

I walk barefoot some, and just as I'm starting to toughen up Winter comes, the boots come on, and the feet become soft.

munk

The bottoms of my feet used to be like the pads of a dog's. As a kid, shoes just slowed me down. Rock roads, twig littered pathes, it didn't matter. Boots would get stuck in the creek catching/hunting frogs and crayfish with crossbows, bows and arrows, and spears. I was ferral. The joys of summers lived like a Twain novel.